+977 9847716714 [email protected]
5.0
Rated 5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Reviews

Best thing we did on a 3-month trip

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 26, 2023

My wife and I chose the 5-day Mohara Dana trek with Raj and his friend and porter, Chin, after a colleague of mine did the same trek with Raj a few years ago.

It did not disappoint; in fact, I think it’ll prove to be the best thing we did on our 3-month trip.

Raj is a local to the Tikot village you’ll visit on your last evening, and he knows the trail like the back of his hand (another guide had to ring Raj a few times as he was lost and needed directions). Plus, he knows all the teashop and lodge owners really well, and it’s this community element of the trek that separates it from other more touristy alternatives.

When my wife was feeling unwell midway through the trek Raj even kindly moved his schedule around a bit to give us a rest day so we could complete the trek a day later than originally planned.

Can’t recommend it enough.

Avatar for Max
Max
Verified

Amazing Experience

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 26, 2023

Raj was a great guide. We spent 5 days together on the trail and he was always so patient, helpful and friendly. He knows many people along the way and all of the best teahouses to stay and eat. This was a very difficult trek for me and I know I couldn’t have done it without him. His communication before the trip was great and he was always on time to meet and for pickup. I would recommend Raj for anyone who is traveling to Nepal.

Avatar for Ben
Ben
Verified

Trek like a local with Raj -- one of the best week...

Rated 5.0 out of 5
December 13, 2022

Without worry, I would send my 65 year old mother to hike with Raj. Or, my 15 year old cousin. Raj is kind, smart, and funny. He allowed me to connect authentically to the individuals whose homes I was passing through (himself included), and I am so thankful.

At one point during our trek up to Mohare Danda, ending at Raj’s home village of Tikot, I was sure that I’d seen a carnivorous plant. He nicely explained that the plant was a lily and can be fermented and dried to make gundruk, a tasty side dish. Later that day we saw its shriveled stocks lying in the sun. The same day, we saw women gathering “winter worm summer grass,” which is a moth larvae that is parasitized by a fungus and becomes a fruiting body for the fungus. They were gathering it because of it’s high value as a traditional Chinese medicine. Without Raj, I would have missed these details and so many more.

If you’re considering traveling to Nepal, do it! And, use Raj as your guide. You’ll enjoy the most incredible views and get to know many good-humored, thoughtful people.

Avatar for Loree Lewis
Loree Lewis
Verified

Eco trek

Rated 5.0 out of 5
June 10, 2022

Raj took my family and some friends on an eco trek and was great company, showing my husband all kinds of Nepali songs. He was a wonderful voice as well as being a great guide. A really lovely person that I would trust to take me and anyone I know anywhere!

Avatar for Heather/ Nómadas Solidarios
Heather/ Nómadas Solidarios
Verified

great guide! ✨

Rated 5.0 out of 5
June 5, 2022

If you ever visit nepal this guy will bring you off the beaten track. I truly recommend raj since not only is he great at what he does by bringing you to places you would not go with a big organization. Also he is very communicative, kind funny and empathic. It was a real pleasure to trek with him. ❤️🌞

Avatar for Harry
Harry
Verified

Mohara dande trek

Rated 5.0 out of 5
June 2, 2022

Hi I did the Mohara Danda trek with Rajkumar with a friend. Rajkumar is a pleasant and above all competent person. Everything was well organized and in order. Beautiful trips and sleeping with local people was an experience as well as the local food was very good. We wouldn’t want to do these adventures with anyone but Raj. At Raj you get value for money. If you want to do a trek, please contact Raj.

Avatar for Eric Bonnarens
Eric Bonnarens
Verified

Unforgettable experience - Can't wait to come back...

Rated 5.0 out of 5
May 30, 2022

I just completed the Poon Hill 5 day trek with Raj and I must admit that I was a bit outside my comfort zone. I was quite nervous for the trek but Raj helped me feel comfortable immediately! He was encouraging during the tougher parts and always made sure that I was doing well. We shared many laughs and Raj taught me so much during our 5 days together. He’s an expert on this trek (and so many others), the surrounding nature, and the culture of the villages we passed through. This experience was one I will never forget and I am definitely going to do another trek with Raj next time I am in Nepal!

Avatar for Sarah
Sarah
Verified

Poon Hill 2020

Rated 5.0 out of 5
May 28, 2022

Raj was our guide for our Trek in January 2020. It was an amazing experience and Raj was a fantastic guide. I would definitely recommend him if you are thinking of using a guide for your trek. Nepal is a beautiful place and I will certainly be back in the future booking more treks.

Avatar for Natalie
Natalie
Verified

Absulute perfect and amazing !!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
May 27, 2022

Namaste, I did the Mohare Danda trek with Raj, it was an incredible experience of a lifetime for me. I would like to appreciate Raj’s communication before the trip itself, when we were informed about everything and he advised us everything we needed. Upon arrival in Nepal, our meeting and greeting was as agreed. The course of the whole trek was absolutely great, he had everything perfectly planned. Raj is absolutely great even from a personal point of view. And I believe that because of that we became friends for life, even though we are separated by thousands of kilometers. As soon as possible, I will return to Raj for another trip together. Danda

Avatar for Danda
Danda
Verified

The top was not the highlight of the trip

Rated 5.0 out of 5
May 27, 2022

In April of 2022 we (3 friends) did a big part of the Annapurna circuit. from Darapani over the pass to Tatopani and then a few days extra via Ghorepani ending in Ghandruk. Under the professional guidance and enthusiasm of Raj this was a super challenge and we felt save and confident all the way.

We will be back for more!!

Avatar for Rogier Mouissie
Rogier Mouissie
Verified

Trek Savior and Angle from Heaven for Seniors

Rated 5.0 out of 5
April 25, 2022

WOW, Raj’s expertise and medical knowledge saved a life long dream. Crystal, I and Raj did the Poon Hill trek together. Raj had to contend with out-of-shape Seniors 66 yrs old who have a bunch of medical handicaps. Raj was patient with my super slow pace and always encouraging both of us. He is a true Professional and Gentleman. Raj knew every inch of the Annapurna trail like the back of his hand. Several times getting to the trail head and on the trail we encountered unavoidable complications, which Raj easy navigated to keep on schedule and on budget. It is crazy not to use a guide. Raj solved issues in a matter of minutes that would have taken us hours or days to resolve on our own. Simply, Raj saved our trek. Raj negotiate best prices and recommended very comfortable Tea Houses. Believe me, from experience, it costs a lot more in time, money and stress to solve the common “Nepal” complications on your own. My recommendations to others, is to set aside a few dollars for a guide, you will not regret it and Raj is the best. Raj assessed our physical condition and modified the speed of our trek so that we were successful. Without Raj guidance, we surely would have physically crashed early in the trek. When Crystal became ill., Raj like a magician and found her some medicine that worked right away. Crystal has a sensitive stomach and Raj even cooked some baked potatoes for her over a wood fire. He looked after us, like we were family. He provided us confidence, so we could focus on the beauty of forest, rhododendron blooms and concentrate on the trail. He was like lighting to steady us if there was a slip or stumble. For us the Poon Hill trek was very physically challenging and Raj got us through it. Next year I will get in better shape, and return tp redo Poon Hill in preparation for Raj and I to do the EBC together. Raj Thank you 10,00 times Best Regards David and Crystal.

Avatar for David and Crystal Smith
David and Crystal Smith
Verified

AMAZING

Rated 5.0 out of 5
April 14, 2022

My group and I did the Mohare trek in 2019 and it was a trip off a lifetime. Raj is experienced and extremely accommodating. You can relax knowing he has everything seamlessly planned.

Avatar for Emily
Emily
Verified

Absolutely amazing.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 17, 2022

We did an 11 night trek with Rajkumar in 2019 as part of a year away, and this trek was the highlight of the trip.

Our particular route was part of the newly created Community Eco Trek. The route went through Nangi, Mohare Dhanda, Poon Hill, Chistibang, Tikot, Khopra Dhanda, Paudwar and Tatopani.

Raj took us through specific routes where the rhododendron forests were flowering which was an incredible sight. Stopping for lunch (and honey and lemon tea) was always in some amazing location with views over the mountains. The sunrise from Khopra Dhanda with a view of Dhaulagiri (7th highest peak in the world) is stunning and I would recommend adding this to anyone’s trek.

Raj also had an amazing knowledge of the area taking us along specific routes away from the crowds. All the planning and logistics were seamless.

I was recommended Rajkumar as a guide by a friend and would happily recommend him to anybody. We are already planning a return trip.

Avatar for Emilia and George
Emilia and George
Verified

Kind, dependable, knowledgeable

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 14, 2022

I highly recommend the mountaineering guide services of Rajkumar “Raj” Sunar. He was my guide during a two-week trek in Annapurna Sanctuary in 2016 during which we reached Annapurna Base Camp.

He speaks English well and at the time was even taking graduate studies to improve his English competency. His ability to communicate in English allowed me to learn about Nepali culture and life in the Himalayas while walking on the trails.

Raj is fit, strong and competent as a guide. He knew the trails and terrain very well, and where there was a phone signal even called his contacts in villages in advance so that, most of the time, we’d arrive in villages with beds already reserved for us. He was conscious about time and gently motivated me to keep walking at a steady pace whenever I’d get tired and wanted to slow down. And when I had a slight knee injury, he was flexible enough to adjust our itinerary and be my guide a little bit longer than planned so I could have more time to rest and recuperate.

He knew the names of the legendary Himalayan mountains we’d see along the trails and on peaks, as well as many plants, all of which he had studied in order to become a certified guide in his country. He also described many of the local dishes in the mountain villages, so that I felt I had a “well-rounded” travel experience: a bit of nature, a bit of culture and lots of adventure.

Raj is dependable and honest- I often trusted him with some of my gear and backpack and I got them all back, nothing got lost. I enjoyed talking to him and equally appreciated his giving me lots of time for quiet and solitude when I needed them, or for talking to other trekkers in guesthouses and on the trails.

He has become my friend- someone on whom I depended for survival and helped keep me safe- and I’m honored to have been his partner in what, for me, was a journey of a lifetime.

Thank you Raj!

Avatar for Voltaire Veneracion, Co-Founder, PeopleandProfits....
Voltaire Veneracion, Co-Founder, PeopleandProfits....
Verified

A Nepali trekking experience I will never forget!

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 13, 2022

I had the greatest fortune to experience the Mohare trek in 2018 with a group from my school with Raj as our guide. All logistics were handled seamlessly throughout our trek and we didn’t have to worry about anything. He kept us on pace to reach each rest stop and summit at the perfect time of day to take in the incredible beauty and wonder of the Himalayan mountains. We even stayed a night in his village of Tikot where he is quite popular 🙂 He assured that our experience was educational, ecological, beautiful, insightful, and fun! He is so passionate about sharing his knowledge and appreciation for these mountains, I can’t imagine experiencing Nepal with anyone else. Thank you Raj! I can’t wait until I can come back and do another trek with you!

Avatar for Emily Barney
Emily Barney
Verified

Amazing experience

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 11, 2022

My friend and I did the Mohare trek with Raj 2 years ago. It was an amazing trek in which we visited many of the villages along the way. Raj was very accommodating and clearly experienced. In particular when I got severe altitude sickness and had to make a speedy decent after reaching the summit. Would love to do more treks with Raj!

Avatar for Ida
Ida
Verified

A beautiful experience

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 9, 2022

We did a trekk 2 Years ago my husband and I with Raj. It was a trekk for 7 days and was a very beautiful experience. Raj IS very nice and calm. He knows how to adapt at our pace. He took time to describe us landscapes, specialities and some villages we got in. We do recommand him for your trekk ! ☺️

Avatar for Floriane
Floriane
Verified

Sun shine school/College

Rated 5.0 out of 5
March 9, 2022

We trekked to khopra danda in January 9, 2022. We had our College group of above 30 members, and with the help and encouragement of our guide Rajkumar sunar sir we succeed to reach khopra, even though we struggled, he motivated us. And it was our life time experience. We will miss you and those days❤️

Avatar for Anjali gharti magar
Anjali gharti magar
Verified